Broker Check

Professional Designations

Box Financial offers clients an impressive depth of knowledge and experience in planning for an exceptional life.

All Box Financial Advisors hold a variety of professional designations and are well versed in a number of financial disciplines. Our combined education and experience position us to offer broad-based financial advice our clients can trust. The following designations are maintained by one or more of our advisors:

AIF® (Accredited Investment Fiduciary®)

The Accredited Investment Fiduciary® (AIF®) designation is designed for advisors who receive training in the pertinent legislation and best practices for implementing a prudent process for their investment practices and for assisting others in implementing proper policies and procedures.


Learn more about the AIF® program at the The fi360 website.

BFA™ (Behavioral Financial Advisor™)

The Behavioral Financial Advice program developed by Kaplan and think2perform is designed to train, develop, and improve the moral and emotional competencies necessary to help financial advisors and their clients make better decisions throughout the financial planning process. Behavioral financial advice does not replace financial planning—it simply increases the effective usage of the financial plan by improving decision-making behavior.

CAP® (Chartered Advisor in Philanthropy®)

The Chartered Advisor in Philanthropy® (CAP®) designation demonstrates you have the knowledge and tools to help clients articulate and advance their highest aspirations for self, family and society. The CAP® program consists of graduate-level courses which can be used for credit toward a Master of Science in Financial Services degree. The CAP® program is designed for self-study, leading to an objective exam in a local exam center.


Learn more about the CAP® program at the The American College website.

CFP® (Certified Financial Planner®)

Education: CFP® professionals must develop their theoretical and practical financial planning knowledge by completing a comprehensive course of study at a college or university offering a financial planning curriculum approved by CFP Board.

Examination: CFP® practitioners must pass a comprehensive two-day, 10-hour CFP® Certification Examination that tests their ability to apply financial planning knowledge in an integrated format.

Experience: CFP® professionals must have three years minimum experience in the financial planning process prior to earning the right to use the CFP® certification marks (or, effective September 2012, two years of personal delivery experience that meets additional requirements).

Ethics: As a final step to certification, CFP® practitioners agree to abide by a strict code of professional conduct, known as CFP® Board's Code of Ethics and Professional Responsibility, that sets forth their ethical responsibilities to the public, clients and employers.

ChFC® (Chartered Financial Consultant®)

The ChFC® designation has been a mark of excellence for almost thirty years and currently requires nine college-level courses, the most of any financial planning credential. Average study time to earn the ChFC® exceeds 450 hours. Required courses cover extensive education and application training in financial planning, income taxation, investments, and estate and retirement planning. Additional electives are chosen from such topics as macroeconomics, financial decisions for retirement, and executive compensation. ChFC® designees must meet experience requirements and adhere to continuing education and ethical standards. The credential is awarded by The American College, a non-profit educator with an 85-year heritage and the highest level of academic accreditation.

CLU® (Chartered Life Underwriter®)

For 85 years the CLU®has been the respected risk management credential for advisors. Designees have completed eight or more college-level courses representing an average study time of 400 hours. Topics for required courses include insurance and financial planning, life insurance law, estate planning, and planning for business owners and professionals. Elective courses include such advanced topics as income taxes, group benefits, retirement planning, and health insurance. CLU® designees must meet experience and continuing education requirements and must adhere to a high ethical standard. The mark is awarded by The American College, a non-profit educator with the top level of academic accreditation.

To meet with a Box Financial advisor, contact us today.